Nomadic identities

I’ve been thinking about the problem of moving my account from my instance to another instance or platform. A few days ago I asked about it and received this answer.

Basically the options proposed are:

1. To use the DID scheme
  2. Follow what hubzilla does

What are your opinions on this? Since is something that will determine the way of creating users for activityPub is an important issue to discuss at the beggining

Is that question specific to Anfora or a general ActivityPub one? :slight_smile:

I wanted to talk about it for all the project here since is something that may be important. But maybe I should move it to the anfora’s sub

I think that’s important in general, not just Anfora :slight_smile: I’m afraid i don’t have any valuable input on this yet as i’m pretty new to this whole activitypub stuff. I’ve heard about like 0.5y ago and instantly felt in love with the idea but some more time need to pass till i’ll be more confident in that topic.

Anyway, that’s something i will definitely keep in my head!

Pixelfed is investigating Nomadic Identities in this github issue: https://github.com/pixelfed/pixelfed/issues/216

Thanks! That answer is very complete. It’s true that we have a big problem here but I’m with this partial solution of let all ready for when it’s the moment

We made a workshop last July about this, and our conclusions where that Nomadic identities are a complex subject.

Basically, we found out they solve two problems:

1. Don’t be affected by the downtime of your instance (since your identity is replicated elsewhere)
  2. Make it easier for other people to find you (since you can use a single identity)